PitchWars: Pimp My Bio

Hi Mentors,

Thanks for taking the time to check out my Bio. I’m Charlie and am super excited about PitchWars. What an excellent opportunity, am I right? I’m sure everyone involved with making this happen won’t see this, but you guys rock!

About Me: I live in NJ with my girlfriend, my dog Remi (aka Nootie), and my cat $hizzy. And yes that’s a dollar sign cuz he’s a little diva.

erica new phone 008

Yes, he can read. You assumed he was illiterate? Shame on you!

Remi

Big Dawg

He actually can’t read. Not the brightest! But I love him so much I wanna eat his face! Is that weird?

I am currently unemployed which is good and bad. Bad because…well you know, the money thing. But good because, I have plenty of time to work on my writing and if I’m lucky enough to be chosen by a mentor I’ll have plenty of time to work on edits.

index.jpg

I used to be a HS biology teacher and before that, back when I used to be able to touch my toes, I was an athlete. I played football and basketball. And I was lucky enough to play a little basketball in Italy. After my playing days (Do I sound like an old man? I’m not!) I coached basketball for a youth organization in my community for years.

index.jpg

That used to be me. Except, I wasn’t that good but I am better looking. Really! My Mom told me so.

I think that playing sports is beneficial in a number of ways, but as it relates to writing it’s helped me to be able to take criticism and use it improve my craft. I actually prefer brutal honesty from my CP’s, though they’re not always willing to give it. But I find that’s how I’m really able to improve, and I hope that if I do get a mentor they would feel comfortable to tell me straight out what they think will most help improve my work. Believe me, I can take it.

index.jpg

I have been in several critique groups for a number of years now and am a member of The Liberty State Writer’s group.

I speak Italian fluently (My first language) and have a working knowledge of French. Don’t know why this would matter other than I think it’s cool and I always try to fit it in to conversation whenever I can.

index.jpg

I know, right? I’ve traveled to a lot of places but Italy is IMO the most beautiful place on Earth.

Books: I’ve tried to figure out how many books I’ve read (A student once asked me) and I didn’t know, but it was certainly in the thousands, over a lifetime. (Seriously, I’m not old). My reading tastes vary across multiple genres and categories. But some of my all time favorites are Harry Potter (obviously), A Monster Calls, The Name of the Wind and Wise Man’s Fear, Charm School and Plum Island, A Wrinkle in Time, The Blackstone Knife, all of Dragonlance, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, To Kill a Mockingbird, Where the Heart Is, Salem’s Lot and On Writing.

index.jpg

Movies: The Shawshank Redemption, Glory, Braveheart, What Dreams May Come, Airplane, Dr. Zhivago, The Neverending Story, Without a Trace, Raging Bull, Scent of a Woman, Unforgiven, Gran Torino, Clue, When Harry Met Sally, Sleepless In Seattle and Gladiator

index.jpg

Especially when you’re hoping to get picked for PitchWars. Isn’t Morgan Freeman the best?

Shows: Big Bang Theory, Everybody Love Raymond, Cheers, Seinfeld, Three’s Company, Friends, Wings, Monk, Quantum Leap, Star Trek TNG, way too many to list all of them.

images.jpg

Extra points if you knew that’s Antonio Scarpacci!

Video Games: All of them but #1 is Neverwinter Nights

My MS: Van Helsing’s Blood is a MG (Upper) urban fantasy complete at 78,000 words. I recognize that it’s a tad long for MG. I believe that fans of the Percy Jackson and The Immortal Nicholas Flamel series will enjoy this book.

I know you may be thinking, not another vampire/werewolf book. But I really believe that this is not the typical story.

index.jpg

My QL: Obsessed with his father’s murder, Leonidas discovers he’s a descendant of the legendary monster hunter Abraham van Helsing. And therefore, a target of the monsters responsible for his dad’s death.

When descendants turn thirteen, they exude a scent marking them to the occult. This could explain his attack by werewolves, except, Leo’s only twelve. Which may signify that a darker destiny awaits him.

Leo’s whisked away to a secret school, nestled deep in the Adirondack Mountains. There, he’s told about a lost prophecy foretelling of a child with the abilities to win the war of the ‘immortals’. A war, humankind is losing. Mentored by several instructors, including a vampire and werewolf, Leo’s unique talents develop despite his reluctance. He’s forced to accept his connection with the prophecy.

When the sanctuary of the school is infiltrated by the Count of St. Germain’s minions, he must race to dig deeper into human history, mythology and folklore. So he can find St. Germain’s hidden castle, rescue his uncle, and uncover the truth about why humanity is losing. If he can stay alive.

Because if evidence of the occult’s existence is hidden in plain sight throughout history—who’s responsible for putting it there?

Other aspects of the book: (Because I think I suck at writing queries and want to make sure the story doesn’t get lost because of my ineptitude.) The story relies heavily on mythology, folklore and history. The Count of St. Germain is a real historical figure who lived an extraordinary life. And there are a number of real historical accounts of the occult that I hope readers will be fascinated to learn about. Leo becomes acquainted with his grandmother (A person whom he was told was dead) and they forge a strong bond/relationship throughout the book.

Leave a Reply

